Summer Quilting Project

Summer Quilting Project

As a teacher, I don’t have much time during the year to work on personal projects. Now that it’s summer, I finally have time to work on projects that have nothing to do with lesson plans or tests and homework.

I’ve been wanting to try making a jelly roll quilt for a while now, but I wasn’t even thinking about it until I saw a batik jelly roll at Joann’s Fabric. As it turned out, it was one of the only things not on sale- which meant that it was one of the only things that would work with my 40% off coupon. It must have been fate. Far be it for me to go against fate. So I bought two. Then I went online to find a pattern.

I scoured Pinterest for a Jelly Roll Quilt Pattern

Once I picked out a pattern I wanted to try, I got busy sewing strips together. I didn’t want to make a small square patchwork quilt.

20180607_153224

I decided to use diagonals instead. By cutting each of the squares along the diagonals and then rearranging the pieces, I created larger squares with nested squares.

20180607_172832

20180607_172926

I then outlined each of the squares with white on off-white strips. I finished the quilt with a batik background and a polka dot batik border. I was really happy with the way it turned out. I don’t think I would recommend this pattern for someone with no quilting experience, but it was a really fun change from basic square blocks. I think I am going to try another jelly roll quilt using material scraps that I have left over from some of my previous projects. I already have another pattern picked out. Stay tuned!

Jelly Roll Quilt

 

 

Leave a comment