Posted in Galveston, hurricane season, storms, Uncategorized

Hurricane Season at the Cottage

Hurricane Season is one of my favorite times of the year. There. I said it. I’m not even really ashamed of saying it. My townhouse isn’t close enough to the coast to be in an evacuation zone, but it is close enough to be impacted if a storm should make landfall. This time of year always makes me take a look at my own readiness to survive without power. There’s a primal satisfaction in being prepared to survive a disaster. In a world dominated by convenience, having to disconnect from all of the modern conveniences and live like people did in ages past is both humbling and edifying at the same time.

Last year, I made my Algebra 2 students do a hurricane project. I had them calculate how much food they would need for a family of four for a month without power. I even had them make small survival kits that would fit in an Altoid tin.

This year, we are at a different spot in the curriculum, and a full-blown hurricane project just didn’t fit into the calendar, but I am still thinking about it anyway.

As far as my own readiness is concerned, I’m a little better off this year than I was last in year in terms of emergency supplies. I have enough food for the puppies and kitties for several weeks. Hurricane Season officially starts in a month, so over the next few weeks, I need to re-evaluate what food supplies I have for myself. I also need to make sure I have emergency repair supplies for the townhouse- like tarps and a few pieces of lumber for make-shift repairs. It’s kind of exciting.

MemoryCard2 466
Random storm cloud from an afternoon storm in Galveston

Wherever you are, I wish you a safe and well-prepared hurricane season this year.

Leave a Reply

