Posted in quilt, quilting

Cold Fronts and Lazy Weekends

Now that the holidays are over, things are getting back to normal here in the townhouse. It’s been super cold here the last few days. The puppies and I have been doing a lot of snuggling under and on quilts on the couch. I’ve been using the first quilt I made for a while now, but it is fairly small and light weight. This weekend, I had to bring in the big guns (metaphorically speaking).

dsc_0079
Miss M on the couch near the original quilt- back when the weather was warmer (like 4 days ago).

I made this quilt for myself back in June. I listed it on Etsy (secretly hoping it wouldn’t sell) and haven’t used it just in case somebody ordered it. I still have enough of the material to make a new one if someone does order it, but I am sooooo glad that I decided to get it out. It’s a little bigger than my colorful quilt, and it is flannel on the front and back. It’s not the prettiest quilt I’ve ever made, but if I had realized how comfortable this one was, I would have gotten it out of the stockpile a long time ago!

dsc_0722

Even the cat was impressed.

dsc_0733

What I’ve noticed is that usually I learn how to do something like knit or crochet or quilt, and then I end up making all kinds of things for everyone else before ever making myself anything. With the quilting, I kept the original quilt I made- mostly because it was small and the quilting was a little uneven, but then the bigger and better ones that I have made, I gave away as gifts (or put up for sale on my Etsy site). The original was kind of an experiment, but I love it and use it pretty much every day. Since then, I have gotten a whole lot better at quilting. I gave quilts as presents to my sister, my brother, my nephew, my niece and two of my great nephews. Yet in the meantime, I have still been using my original quilt. Now that I’ve started using this one, I realize what I’ve been missing.

I think I may need to make a pretty one to use as a bedspread. The real question is… what colors should I use? There are so many colors to choose from!

Leave a Reply

