Posted in Galveston, Holidays, Restaurants, Travel

A Small Christmas Interlude

We have this cat. She was as annoying as could be sometimes, but she was sweet at the same time. I rescued her as a kitten, kind of. A stray cat had kittens and brought them to my parents’ yard. A stray tom cat carried off and killed all of the other kittens. There was just one left. I didn’t want the tom cat to come back and get her, so I took her to my house. That was fifteen and a half years ago. She ended up moving back in with my parents while I was in grad school. She was the boss there. Lately, she had been getting more and more ragged looking, and had started wheezing quite a bit. We took her to the vet. He gave her antibiotics, but prepared us a little that it might not work because of her age. She was down to about 7 pounds already. She seemed like she was improving, but then she died this morning. My mom was the most attached to her.

We had been planning on running some errands today, so we decided to just make a day of it. At least that way Mom wouldn’t be thinking about the cat. (My dad and nephew buried the cat while we were out.)

But, why run errands in the suburbs when you can run errands in Galveston? So we did the most sensible thing to do- we went to Galveston. We decided that after the normal errands, we should hang out on the Strand for a while. They have this really cool gift shop called Admiralty. I didn’t take any pictures inside. I was too busy oohing and ahhing at all of the pretty stuff. I did take a picture of the cool doors going into the shop. Check out how tall and skinny they are. All of the buildings on the Strand are old. Many of them survived the 1900 hurricane and have survived several major hurricanes (and the accompanying flood waters) since then. The curbs are super high, which makes sense if you think about the fact that the Strand area was built when people still rode in horse-drawn carriages everywhere. The high curbs would have made it much easier to get out of the carriages, especially in the big fluffy dresses that were in style back then.

dsc_0156

dsc_0147

Of course, you can’t go to Galveston during the Christmas season without going to La King’s Confectionery shop. If you haven’t been there before, you should add it to your Galveston to-do list. They are amazing! They make most of their own goodies. They pull their own salt water taffy. You can even watch them do it. Around the holidays, they also make their own ribbon candy- the old fashioned kind. They even make their own ice cream. We didn’t get any of the ice cream today because it was a little too cool for ice cream. In the summer, though, their ice cream is the best I’ve ever had. I’m pretty much addicted to the lemon custard flavored ice cream.

Galveston is just a neat place in general. Here is a row of shops we passed on the way back to the car.

dsc_0166

We worked up quite an appetite walking up and down the Strand and decided that the best course of action would be to eat lunch somewhere yummy. I mean, you can’t have a girls’ day out and eat somewhere lame like a fast food place. The only sensible thing to do was eat at Fisherman’s Wharf. If you like seafood, then this is also something you will need to put on your Galveston checklist. This is easily one of my all time favorite restaurants. The atmosphere is really relaxed and cozy. It sits right on the bay, and the views are amazing, especially in the late afternoon, early evening when the sun starts going down. The official Tall-ship of Texas, the Elissa, ties up right next to the restaurant, which makes an incredible backdrop for pictures. As if these weren’t enough reasons to eat their, the food is beyond yummy. Even though I generally don’t particularly like using the word “scrumptious,” it actually does apply here. I could eat there every single day and not get tired of it.

Check out this crab queso. I’m getting hungry again just looking at the picture. Notice how large the pieces of crab are!

20161221_125002

I couldn’t resist the shrimp. I’ve never had anything other than seafood there, but one of the servers was carrying a tray of food and there was a hamburger on it. It was huge, and there were loads of french fries. So, I’m guessing that the burgers are pretty good too. I can honestly say though, that their seafood is just too good for me to even consider ordering a burger.

20161221_130702

The entry way was all decorated up for the season.

dsc_0188

Here is a picture I took of the Elissa on a previous trip to Fisherman’s Wharf. It’s hard to beat the view.

memorycard1-065

Overall, it was a very good day. We took care of the errands, and took our minds off of the cat. Tomorrow we have to hit the ground ready again. I still have a few last minute ingredients to get for the Brussels sprouts, and I still have a little bit of quilting to do. Taking a break from the Christmas rush was nice. I think I may make it a new tradition.

Leave a Reply

