Posted in baking, Christmas

Oh, Eggnog Scone. Oh, Eggnog Scone. How yummy is your rum glaze.

Okay, I have to just put this out there. I think that King Arthur Flour should just give me free mixes to try out. Then I could blog about them. Yes, this is really just an attempt to get free yummy mixes from King Arthur Flour, but I’m okay with that. I haven’t found anything that they make that isn’t super yummy. I got a coconut cupcake mix from them this past summer, and it was amazing! I use their sourdough starter pretty much every week to make my bread, and a while back, I noticed the Spiced Eggnog Scone mix in their catalog. I couldn’t resist and ordered it with the intent of trying it out during the Christmas season. With my nephew’s birthday happening today and family in town for that, I decided now would be a good time to make them.

O.M.G. They were soooo yummy! They were a huge hit! I got the rum glaze mix that they recommended too. I only made half a batch of the glaze, and it was perfect. I even remembered to take pictures. The mix didn’t require extra eggnog. I just took a picture of the bottle of eggnog to pay homage to the mighty eggnog fairy.

dsc_0125

The mix called for butter, milk, an egg and salt.

dsc_0130

dsc_0135

I sliced the butter into pats and cut it into the dry mix with a pastry blender. Then I added the milk and egg.

dsc_0136

In the top right edge of this picture, you can kind of see the Danish dough whisk. I didn’t even know these existed until a few years ago when I read about it on The Boat Galley blog. I was skeptical at first but decided to try one. I don’t think I have made a single batch of bread, cookies or scones since then without it. They work so much better than a spoon and are so much easier to stir, even when the dough is thick. They are amazing! I found mine on Amazon, but it was a cheaper one, and I got what I paid for. I ended up having to super glue the metal tines into the handle. King Arthur Flour has them for sale on their website, and I think eventually I am going to replace mine with one of their’s. I’m sure they are much higher quality. All I know is that if my lower quality one works this well, the higher quality ones must be heavenly to use.

Anyway, back to the scones… I mixed everything up, dropped it in big globs on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and popped them into the oven. Fifteen long and excruciatingly slow minutes later, I had scones!

dsc_0140

Then I mixed up the rum glaze that I had ordered at the same time, and voila!

dsc_0144

These were even better than I had imagined. I think I’m going to need to order some more of these mixes before they are gone.

I am enjoying my Christmas vacation so far. I worked as an offshore structural engineer before the bottom dropped out of the oil and gas market, and I only got 2 days off at Christmas. Now I teach high school math, and I have to say that the pay cut is kind of worth it. I love having so much time off around the holidays. I even had a whole week off at Thanksgiving. And don’t even get me started on summer break. I really enjoy actually having the time to do the things I want to do- like baking and quilting for instance.

I think for my next trick, I am going to try out a brussel sprout recipe that I found online. Our family holiday menu has grown a little stale. We always have the same basic menu for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and the casseroles and sides are getting a little boring. We agreed that we needed a change, and I have grown fond of brussel sprouts over the past few years- something that I would have never expected when I was younger. If it turns out okay, I will post the link to the recipe and some pictures.

 

 

Leave a Reply

