Posted in Holidays, puppies, Travel

Happy Thanksgiving!

dsc_0054

Thanksgiving this year was at my sister’s house in the country. The original plan was to pack up my puppies and head out to her house Wednesday, but… there was an early Black Friday sale at Joann’s fabric. I mean, seriously. Who am I to resist batting and material at irresistible prices? I don’t generally get into the sales after Thanksgiving. I can’t really think of anything that I want badly enough to camp out in the cold. The only thing I would even consider camping out for would be if someone were giving away free sailboats. I’m not holding my breath on that one, especially since I’m going to need a pretty good size sailboat to be able to fit my 3 dogs and 2 cats. It doesn’t seem likely that such a giveaway would be included as a Black Friday deal.

A sale at Joann’s on the other hand… I have been buying batting each time I want to make a quilt- usually on sale, but on Wednesday, I was able to get 25 yards of it! Amazing! I see lots of quilting in my future. In preparation for using my new batting, I sewed together a quick baby quilt top. Then I had to stop to get ready to go to my sister’s house. I plan on putting the back on it and quilting it over the next couple of days. As soon as it’s done, I will post pictures of it.

Thanksgiving night, I took my puppies camping for the first time. They did surprisingly well. We heard coyotes during the night, which I think freaked me out more than it did the dogs. I imagined big giant evil coyotes circling our tent. I was glad that we were in a fenced in part of my sister’s garden and not out in her field. At least it wouldn’t have been quite as easy for the coyotes to get to our tent. My puppies stayed snuggled up close to me all night. I was glad.

dsc_0983
Two of my babies looking out of the garden gate

I really like visiting the country, but I have to say, the idea of coyotes roaming free (and apparently bobcats!) kind of freaks me out a little bit. I think I’ll stick with my townhouse cottage for now (and maybe a sailboat). Though, visiting the country is fun from time to time. Maybe I need an RV. Then it would be a little less open to giant evil coyotes.

dsc_0064
The dark, foreboding forest beyond the garden fence 
Leave a Reply

