Posted in Uncategorized

New in the Neighborhood

There are thousands of lifestyle blogs out there. Most of them have much bigger budgets and much more style than I do. So this blog isn’t about being a Lifestyle Diva or any kind of guru. Mostly, I just like blogging, and I like crafting- specifically quilting, crocheting and knitting. So, I decided to combine all of the things I like by blogging about quilting and crafting.

I have been knitting and crocheting for years. I learned how to sew from my mom when I was younger. Quilting is a recent development.

A few months ago, I found myself with a ton of nervous energy while waiting for my niece to be born. I had lots of material- don’t ask- and I decided to channel my nervous energy by making a patchwork quilt.

I was hooked immediately. Seriously. You take a bunch of random material, sew some shapes and voila! A usable, completely functional quilt! Amazing! How did I not know about this sooner?

My grandmother used to quilt a lot when I was younger, but her quilts were mostly super fancy geometric or cathedral window style quilts. They were really pretty, but they were kind of old style. I had always liked the idea of making quilts, but I didn’t really want a bunch of old looking blankets all over my house. I really wanted something colorful and fun with pretty material but not so many tiny pieces to sew together. So imagine my utter shock when I figured out that I could make quilts that were wondrously colorful while at the same time, not made of a thousand different tiny pieces.

So now, I quilt.

I am starting this blog as an outlet for all of my crafting but specifically the quilting part and the struggles of crafting while working full time. Maybe somewhere along the way, I can inspire you to be creative too.

Leave a Reply

